5 Ways to Learn Chinese for FREE!!!!

I think that anyone who has found there way to my little corner of the web will agree that command of Chinese is a valuable, desirable skill to have. Though not particularly an easy one to obtain. Granted, it helps a lot when you know the right way to approach your studies, but don’t be fooled, you are still in for a lot of work if you want to really take your Chinese to the next level.

One of the best, if not the best ways to do this is to live abroad and completely immerse yourself in a Chinese speaking culture. There is no lack of language programs for foreigners living in Taipei, Taiwan for example. I myself attended one such school for a semester. You could also higher private tutors from amongst the locals to further your studies. These are both great ideas, but they aren’t cheap.

In today’s article, I’m going to offer you some alternatives: 5 free ways to learn Chinese. I think we can all “afford” free, right? So let’s take a look.

1. Live with a Chinese family:

If you decide to live abroad, one way to rapidly improve your Chinese(especially comprehension) is to live with a local family. I did this for around half a year or so when I was living in Taipei and focused on intensely on my Chinese studies at Shida University.I lived with an elderly couple that went by simply “A’gong” and “A’po”, Meaning grandfather and grandmother respectively in Taiwanese dialect. They must’ve been at least in their 70s, and they didn’t speak a lick of English. Needless to say, my Chinese improved immensely just chatting g with them…and boy did they love to talk! If you have the opportunity, I definitely recommend living in a household where Chinese is spoken exclusively, it will really help you speed-up your progress.

Read More Here….

Click Here to get Free Ebook and E-course

1bookadd

 

3 thoughts on “5 Ways to Learn Chinese for FREE!!!!

  1. dreamingoftaipei

    Hi, I am sorry, I saw you studied at Shi Da, can I ask you a little bit about it? I am interested in studying in Taiwan and NTNU would be my first choice, but apart from what you can read from their website it’s quite difficult to find informations about how studying there is like…
    Living in a family is the best method to learn not only the language but the culture too, super fast!

    Reply
    1. loganmurphy1984 Post author

      Hey! Thanks for contacting me, and make sure to check out my new site where I post all of my updated material, ! It’s my pleasure to help a fellow Chinese learner, especially since your just starting out!

      Studying Chinese at Shida was an extremely rewarding experience. I had the opportunity to make friends from all around the world, and most importantly, dedicate all of my waking hours to learning Chinese! The way the classes work out is like this: 3 hours a day/5 days a week of lectures(depending on which level you are placed in, you will be needing a different volume of Practical Audio Chinese(I believe that was the name, and you can get second hand copies from a bookstore across the street and down a ways from Shida(towards Heping E Rd.), the name is Molly’s, and another store, Lucky Books Co is there too and you can get a discount with your student card! You also get discounts for busses, trains and the MRT!

      The downside to studying Chinese at a language institute, to me, was that the focus was more on reading, writing, listening and then speaking. To me, this is the opposite of how it should be!

      All in all, I’d recommend it, but make sure you go out of your way to speak Chinese with the locals and learn on our own as well!

      It sounds like you know from experience! Have you lived with a Taiwanese family?

      Keep in touch, and talk soon!

      PS make sure to sign up for my mail list on my new site and get free Chinese lessons!

      Logan

      Reply
      1. dreamingoftaipei

        Sorry I tought I replied but I didn’t! No I lived with a Chinese family in Sichuan for one year, so now I have a very weird accent but I can kind of speak.
        I was actually thinking about the Chinese as a second language bachelor, because studying Chinese is my goal anyway, so it seems better to study it in a Chinese speaking country…
        Thank you for your reply!

Leave a Reply

